La La Land (2016)

It is so refreshing to see a film as good as “La La Land” in an era when movie-making appears to be getting lazy. That’s not the case in most situations, but it feels like it with films so rushed and produced only to make the box office. Every movie ever made is meant to make money, but when they solely rely on the box office, the movies can be very bland and unfulfilling. “La La Land” is a film that gets every emotion out of you. Even more so than “Inside Out” (2015). (That’s saying a lot.) “La La Land” has a terrific message, a touching love story, a beautiful and memorable score, exciting songs, and superb performances from its actors. The best part of this film is the whole movie!

Damien Chazelle directs this musical epic who I think is one of the most talented upcoming directors. This whole film definitely reflects  his love for music and classical movie-making. His project follows two people, a struggling jazz pianist named Sebastian played by Ryan Gosling, and Mia an aspiring actress with a fear of failure played by Emma Stone. Both fall in love and are faced with balancing their passions to their talents and their passions for each other. As a married man sitting with my wife watching this film, it brought us closer together as a couple who loves good musicals-let alone good movies.

I watched a lot of movies this year with forgettable and bland scores. I’m looking at you Marvel! I was also looking forward to Michael Giacchino’s score for “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”, but was disappointed with no whistling melodies. Justin Hurwitz’s score for “La La Land” brings new life in my life. It’s very recognizable, hip, beautiful, emotional, and easy to whistle. I get a  lot of satisfaction when I’m able to whistle a melody from a film. A recognizable and captivating score, even the simplest melody can do a lot for a film. When a score comes on, you should be able to think of that character or scene. I can recognize Mia’s theme, Sebastian’s them, their love theme, and all of the scenes. I just like a movie more when its music gets me all giddy inside.

Like “The Revenant” (2015), “Gravity” (2013), and the “Pianist” (2002), “La La Land” takes us on single cuts with us following the camera every where. I prefer less cuts than most people, and boy was I pleased with the camerawork and motions this film took me on.  I could focus on the characters and the scene as a whole without cuts distracting me. It was as if I was looking at a moving photograph. Funny to mention that because that’s what motion picture is. But with the way the film was shot makes it more true to that statement.  CinemaScope really came through with this one. It took me back to watching 1960s musicals with large scale shots of the whole production.

The marketing for this film has been the most honest marketing for any production I’ve seen in a long time. Every frame and shot in the trailer is in the movie! The first trailer I saw of this musical was so catchy, brief, and motivating. I need to refer back to “Rogue One” again (sorry for the negative publicity). Half of the clips from the trailers never made it into the movie! I was so annoyed with that. I understand that editing isn’t finished when the trailers come out eight months prior to its release, and “Rogue One” went through re-shoots. I was so relieved sitting in the theater for “La La Land” watching all of the clips and scenes make their way into the picture. I was sometimes anticipating some of the best shots not making it in. I was so overcome with joy and pleasure when the trailer came through on its promise.

This film is so good that this review can’t detail all of the positives I want to write about it. I can hardly think of any negatives about this film. When I watch it enough times, I’m sure I’ll get nit-picky, but for now I’ll enjoy the freshness that comes with this masterpiece. Eyes moistened in my sockets during the third act, not because of the story, but from the sheer good film-making and production of the whole thing. Everything was where it was supposed to be. All of the actors played their parts perfectly. And the score, sets, and editing harmonized to make the best movie and musical this modern world could have asked for.

LLL d 29 _5194.NEF

Emma Stone (L) and Ryan Gosling (R) in “La La Land.”

Leave a comment