Deadpool (2016)

Nothing has ever come close to a comic book movie as “Deadpool” has in its action, gore, and hilarious sense of humor. True he’s an antihero, but he’s so funny at being that! Tim Miller makes his directorial debut with this superhero film about a special operative named Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds) who seeks revenge on the people who turned him into the creature that he is, Deadpool. It has every movie genre mixed into it. Every thing from action, revenge, comedy, and a love story. It’s a pretty good romantic comedy if you ask me.

Reynolds knocked it out of the ball park as Deadpool with his puns and sense of humor in the comic book genre. It is ten times better than his earlier rendition of the ‘Merc with a Mouth’ in “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” (2009) who gets his mouth sewn shut. That killed his character in every way possible. What’s funny is Deadpool references the studio’s mistakes and pokes fun at it! Deadpool also broke the fourth wall in ways that are both appropriate and funny. I had so much fun watching Deadpool do that to us-the audience. And I’ll add that I didn’t expect to laugh so much watching this. I laughed until my ribs hurt!

As a moviegoer, I’ve come to realize that not all audience members are created equal. So I’ll come out and say that I was not the targeted audience for this film. There is a lot of cursing, gore, and some nudity and sexuality in this movie. That drove me away from the movie a little bit as I watched it. I closed my eyes during the sex and nudity parts (Yes, I did close my eyes!). I don’t swear, go to strip joints, or kill people, and I don’t intend to. This film took a lot out of me emotionally, but am I going to change may habits and start swearing and turning violent? No. Movies don’t effect me that way. But always be aware that films like “Deadpool” have a place. I’m not going to buy this film when it hits stores, but I sure enjoyed myself.

deadpool-gallery-03-gallery-image

Ryan Reynolds in “Deadpool”

Leave a comment