The Man From U.N.C.L.E. (2015)

This spy and action movie directed by Guy Ritchie is a good look back in 1960’s Europe with one spy from the C.I.A., Agent Solo (Henry Cavill) who joins forces with a Soviet spy, Agent Illya (Armie Hammer)  to stop an international threat that could start World War Three. The concept is brilliant, but the execution is where I lost interest with this film.

The chemistry with Cavill and Hammer was pretty weak with confusing dialogue that was all too forced trying to make the two like each other. They butted heads on screen as they were supposed to, but their accents needed work. I was taken out of the film with Cavill’s American accent, and I was ‘really’ taken out of the film with Hammer’s Russian accent. I felt I was watching a movie that tried too hard to be a movie.

I was quite bored with this film halfway through it. There was action that filled the scenes where it needed it, but I was bored by the action too so my boredom was inevitable.  Again, it is an awesome thought to have a duo like this on screen, but it could have gone in so many different directions. The film could have casted differently, do a few rewrites in the script, and/or put some more effort with the shots and editing making for a more visually appealing action flick.

man-uncle

Henry Cavill (R) and Armie Hammer (L) in “The Man From U.N.C.L.E.”

 

Leave a comment