Zulu (1964)

If you ever ask me to recommend a military movie, I will always tell you to watch “Zulu”. This film blew me away with its stunning cinematography, use of extras, and tremendous attention to detail about British military tactics. The story is so simple, but delivers an epic movie! Stanley Baker, Jack Hawkins, James Booth, and Michael Caine star in this war film about a British infantry company surrounded by Zulu warriors in 1879 South Africa. Every minute of the movie is drive to the survival and fighting of the protagonists. Nothing about this is lazy! And I personally believe that this is Caine’s best performance in his forty year career on the silver screen. His first and his best!

John Barry’s epic score is so catchy and simple that I could whistle it after seeing the film once. Hearing the kettle drums pounding away at the beginning of the film and when the Zulu come on-screen made me shiver with anticipation of what’s going to happen. The kettle drums sound ever so slightly when the Zulu are off screen, but then slap us in the face when the Zulu surprise us.The brass’s melody supported by the strings adds a bold and classy theme that could only fit to this movie.The score got reactions out of me as much as the fighting did. While I was watching this film, I notice that the fighting and the score never cross paths. The score stops every time fighting starts, and that makes for some powerful and intimidating moments. There is one battle scene that does have the main melody playing. If someone told me before I watched it, I would’ve been skeptical. But having watched the film a dozen times actually works and gives me chills watching it still. Pure movie magic people! The score adds the mood in every frame!

Eighty percent of the movie is set in real time. As time passes, Lieutenants Chard (Baker) and Bromhead’s (Caine) time passes with you. Every minute means life or death for all of the men under their command. Every decision effects how the battle and movie play out. One bad decision could end the movie pretty quickly. I felt the intensity of their situation every minute of this film. Thanks to Caine’s and Baker’s convincing acting methods to incorporate their fears and guts on their faces and in their actions. Zulus pounding and clawing with spears through a burning door will get anyone to tense up and act. Brilliant directing Cy Endfield!

Stanley Baker (L) and Michael Caine (R) in

Stanley Baker (L) and Michael Caine (R) in “Zulu”

Leave a comment